You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 12, 2020.

Today, having dealt with religious controversies on my Council for Liberal Democracy – Sri Lanka Facebook page, I thought of posting some wonderful pictures I took in the last few years of Buddhist temple art in Sri Lanka and also India.

The first seven pictures are of Mulkirigala near the little bit of land I still have in Getamanna, and I have a couple of pictures too of the countryside, the road up and the view from the top of the hill. Then there are seven of Lankatilleke, perhaps the temple in the country I love most. Finally there are six of Ajantha, which I was able to see again in 2011, with better illumination than during my 1970 visit, but when it seemed to me the frescoes had deteriorated, though still wonderful.

Rajiva Wijesinha

Archives