I have not featured recently the four bath tubs in the main garden, for now the fish in them are difficult to take pictures of, given the nets. But this is not so very different from the situation earlier, for those ponds were full of leaves so it was difficult to capture clearly the fish in them. And except for a few bigger ones, which I have shown, there is nothing very special about a host of little fish, with lots of guppies and platies.

But recently I tried to do something different in the first tub, the yellow one, where for many years pink lotuses flourished. That stopped over a year ago, and then several of the fish there, which I had shown, white gourami and red carp and grey gourami, died, and we realized there was something wrong with the mud. It had fermented, or whatever it is that happens to mud, with the heap of leaves that had fallen into it, and we cleaned it all out. Then I put in the more recent mud from the pink bath tub that Nirmali had given me a few years ago, for since no lotuses had lasted long there we decided it did not get enough sun and so we removed the mud from there and thought to have relatively clear water.

Mud was put in the yellow tub since I had hopes that lotuses would once again flourish there, and for that purpose I only put little fish in there, and just a few of them, to stop stalks being eaten. But the plant I placed there soon died, and what with the need for netting I decided to give up.

So that pond now has lots of little fish, of different types and colours. I found the rosy barbs I had put in the little pond on the balcony so attractive that I put in four of those, and added to them a range of tetra including a blue one, in addition to the usual pink and green and yellow. And then I put in a few zebra, pink and yellow, which dart around even more quickly than the other fish.

Initially I had put in a few black mollies and some tetra and they are still there, while Kavi then added a few smaller Malavi. So I have there a kaleidoscope of colour, and though it is difficult to catch, I did manage with a new camera on a new phone to capture something of the jolly movements I admire every morning, with my coffee and their breakfast. 

The pictures do not show well the splendour of the colours, but you can see several in the first picture, and the second has a black molly and a white malavi in addition to the smaller fish. There are then two from different angles, the latter showing losts of malavi, with the final picture showing I think glimpses of blue and red tetra in addition to the brighter colours.