You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 19, 2024.

I failed to post here on Saturday since I was travelling, and we started earlier than I had thought we would and arrived later. But since on Mondays I do not post usually on either this or the literary blog, I thought I would make up for Saturday by talking today here about my ponds.

I did not want to delay, since the ponds have done very well after the netting was put up. Two weeks ago I showed the new lotuses towering above the netting around the small pond, and last week the lotus that shot up by the wall in the bigger pond.

These were followed by more flowers in both ponds. The little pond had a bud waiting for me when I got back there on February 13th after almost a week away, and it began to blossom three days later, and was flourishing on the 17th, when I had to leave again.

And on that day the little bud I saw in the bigger pond on the 13th had developed, though it was still a couple of days from blossoming.

I show those two flowers in turn, three stages of the first and two of the second. In the last of these pictures you can see a couple of the angels in the background, for they seem quite confident now. And then the next picture shows them at the front of the tank, where they now gather when I go up to the balcony, a demand for food that I had not seen before.

Rajiva Wijesinha

Archives

February 2024
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829