You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 4, 2020.

I broke up the last letter because at the end of this one is the first mention of the Vile Bodies, a dining club based on the Evelyn Waugh novel, which became quite a cult, so that in time our photographs, in sepia, were displayed in period decorated cafes. It was the precursor to two other clubs in which, started in my graduate days, I served as Senior Member, the Keats Society, and the Piers Gaveston Society which I believe still flourishes.

And as can be seen I was lax about writing at this time, for there were no more letters in this term and the next I cite was written in the vacation, which once again I spent in College, having so much enjoyed the previous Christmas vacation there.

The first picture is of a Vile Bodies dinner, but the one a year later for I cannot trace on this computer a picture of the very first one, in Michaelmas 1973. There is also a much later picture of the Keats Society, the non-serious picture we took in 1977. The individuals are much later photographs, of Richard Erskine who spent much time in my rooms that year and of Joseph Egerton whose party at the end of term I mention. I met Richard again in 2008 when I went to Belfast, and saw two of his children. The third was in Cambridge, of which he was immensely pround.

The Vile Bodies and preparing for Christmas again in College

12 November (cont)

 I’ve just had a neurotic friend round who doesn’t trust the Dean or the Chaplain and talks to me for hours about his problems – this in addition to arguing on behalf of someone who’s being rusticated, for not even pretending to work over the last 4 weeks.  I’m hopeful he’ll be kept on but it’s rather in the balance.

For the rest, I’ve dined on Trinity High Table with Ravi Tennakoon, discussed ‘The Waves’ with Helen Gardener, Clive James & the Warden of all Souls – part of Union hackery – had to refuse a play with Claire due to a Society Dinner, set up the Vile Bodies society in memory of Evelyn Waugh – Secretary, Mr Chatterbox, the gossip columnist whose identity changes weekly should be suitable? – already had my one completely drunk evening for the term at a rather seedy party, and not yet had a game of bridge. No more letters probably till term ends and I start unwinding.

18th December 1973

I am just to beginning to enjoy the Vac., having gone down last week with a ghastly attack of flu which lasted till yesterday, which meant I couldn’t look after candidates as I’d been meant to – I shall probably have to return my salary, if I’m feeling virtuous or want to set a good example which no one will notice. I had the nurse twice a day and antibiotics thrice, two doctors – at different times – and even in 9th week quite a lot of visitors who found my box bedroom quite uncomfortable. Leslie floated in between interviews and gave me my temperature as at 108 degrees, but that, as the nurse said, was because he hadn’t understood. Univ people left on Saturday but a few Union hacks still around had been informed by then and they’ve been here – I’ve changed rooms for the Vac. – and it’s really quite boring getting well again and having to start thinking of work.

After the flu I decided to change my mind and finally accept a hack invitation for a long weekend in the country just before Christmas – this is the house where all the goodies get lunch at the end of each term, and whence I returned Friday before last an hour late for my Master’s Collection. We needed the lunch, though, after the chaos of the previous week, when so many nasty bits of work were elected. It’s nice to have got on myself, especially as my JCR term of office runs out next term – isn’t it touching? I’m told quite a few of the freshmen want me to stand again! – and I can hack  ruthlessly in the Union  – which doesn’t mean no 1st because I wouldn’t have got a 1st anyway and exhortations from father aren’t really going to help. Sufficient that I’ve kept an Exhibition for 3 years on ludicrous pretences. 

Gaji seems to have got in, and there weren’t any awards in biology and so forth, so a place is very good indeed. The chap doing Forestry kept asking me about him, and I kept saying I didn’t know him myself but my sister liked him and I trusted her judgment – some of the time – and he was a marvellous cricketer anyway. I think he’ll be expected to do great things games-wise when he appears. We’ve had a very good term right through – beat our 2nd boat in the Finals of the Christ Church Regatta, etc. – even though Oxford did fail to win the Rugger match under Univ captaincy. I am told, however, that next year isn’t as good as the three years in at present – which is very sad, if it does mean a Bolshie red–brick imitation, but it’s also rather nice to be remembered as a very good year. And the staff thought my staff party was the best in years!

Rajiva Wijesinha

Archives

November 2020
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30