I have enjoyed reflecting on my travels during the Coronavirus and will continue with these. But I should also bring to a conclusion the other two series that have been presented on this blog, about my work in Reconciliation and my letters from Oxford.

Both were near conclusion when I diverted to recent experiences. As I get back to the reconciliation responsibility I realize how apt it is, at a time when once again the country is feeling upset about a Rajapaksa regime. But though it is clear we are in a great mess, and that Gotabhaya too seems lost, I should register that I can only feel sympathy for him, not anger, for we have been sliding into greater and greater disaster ever since Mahinda Rajapaksa decided, after his great war victory, to indulge his friends rather than build up the country.

And way back in 2014, though I felt as I still feel that a change was necessary – not comprehending then how essentially destructive Ranil was, thinking more of Sirisena than he was capable of – I note too the sympathy I felt for Mahinda because of the use made of him by those who cared nothing for him or for the country.

And I register the reason why I felt even more affection for Gotabhaya than for the rest of the family, not a relevant reason as regards the country, but gratitude for what my father had done for the country was strong in him and I was touched by his emotion.

Regrets for as well as about the President

That last letter cited was written on the 24th of September, as was another in which I noted the lethargy that had overcome most of those in authority –

I enclose copies of letters I have sent to the Secretary of the Ministry of Shipping and Aviation and to the Secretary to the Ministry of the Environment regarding the failure to take action with regard to land encroachments. This is a pity for the reasons given, and it is not acceptable that issues of this nature when raised by a Divisional Secretary are ignored.

I am sorry to worry you about this, but it seems increasingly clear that very few things will move in this country without your intervention. The counter example of the Ministry of Defence – which has generally worked efficiently, if the matters regarding the BBS that we have discussed are not taken into account – should reinforce the arguments for having a technocratic executive as is common practice where there is an Executive Presidency.

I hope therefore that you will take the need for efficiency and the separation of powers into account in developing the reform agenda the country so desperately needs.

But irritated though I was, I did feel enormous sympathy for Mahinda Rajapaksa who was suffering much because he could not be firm with those who milked him to their advantage. I had in fact written to Lalith Weeratunge on September 7th after I met the President at the almsgiving my cousin held for my father – ‘I met His Excellency yesterday and feel that he is under pressures he does not deserve, and would find some relief if a few simple reforms were set in place. This is a task that only you could accomplish.’

My sister had upbraided him then for not having come for my father’s funeral. I knew he had tried, but a helicopter could not fly from Uva where he was the day my father died, and the next day, he was busy with election meetings and could not come to the funeral. My sister basically told him that, after all my father had done for him, he should have got his priorities right. But I knew by then that the government was doing badly and he was seen as its only positive feature and was needed by those standing for the Provincial Council who would have been annoyed with him had he failed to appear at their meetings.

But even his presence could not prevent the government going down to defeat, which is why it was so foolish of him to have a premature presidential election. So I could only feel sorry for him, and I appreciated his ringing to apologize in person and say his wife would be present. So she was, as was Chamal, whom my father had also helped to get his position in the police. Basil did not come nor Namal, who was also electioneering. But I was deeply touched that Gotabhaya not only came home, but was also at the funeral, standing quietly by himself to pay his respects to someone who had done so much for the family, ungrudgingly for he had been a very good friend of their kindly and lovable father.